With permission of the Allentown School District the East Allentown Rittersville Neighborhood
Association in cooperation with the Lehigh Valley Space Frontier of the Lehigh Valley Council
for Regional Livability supports the Annual Allentown School District Science Fair by offering
the Kirk Shinsky Award to a Allentown School District High School Student and the Frederick
Greenleaf Jr. Award to a Allentown School District Middle School Student.

Please note - when we established the Greenleaf and Shinsky Awards our aim or intent in
establishing Project Academia- Science was to encourage projects whose themes were
related to astronomy, earth science, space aviation, space settlement, space technology,
space physics and engineering. But in reality in the award of these prizes we had to deal with
what themed projects were actually produced by students and how the independent judges
judged these projects overall irregardless of science category. Knowing this reality we are
very pleased with the projects that the Judges selected as winners these past few years. But
to assure that those quality projects which deal with our preferred categories are awarded we
have created a third award which be awarded year to year depending on what quality projects
in our preferred categories are offered to us

This Award is called the Pete Conrad Space Faring Civilization Award and because of the
nature of the award is awarded to the best of the show in our preferred category regardless of
whether the entry comes from the middle of high School division.

Each award has a $100 monetary award associated with the award.

Frederick Greenleaf Jr. in 1955 was an Allentown High School student whom had the
distinction of being the first Allentown School District student to win 1st prize in the national
science Fair.

Kirk Shinsky in 1970 was a Dieruff High School student whom also had the distinction of being
a national science fair winner.  His project dealt with creating a proton collider.

Pete Conrad was a Pennsylvania native who flew to the Moon on Apollo 12.


Allentown School District Science Fair/Science Fest

The Allentown School District hosted its annual middle and high school competitive science
fair on May 31 and June 1, 2018. There was a Science Fest for the community on the evening
of May 31.

All Middle and High School Students were eligible to compete

High School Contacts for information were:
•William Allen – Michele Kloiber and Nicole Leskosky
•Dieruff – Lisa Krause and Leila Little

Middle School Contacts for information were:
•Harrison-Morton – Katie Perkins
•Raub – Stephanie Deemer
•South Mountain – Jaime Nattress
•Trexler – Allison Bucari

Participation in the ASD Science Fair was designed to be  both challenging and competitive.
To ensure that students participating in the fair were properly supported, several systems
would be available to students outside of the time that was used in class.

A second support available was I/E period. All students in Advanced Science Classes were
required to complete a science fair project and be enrolled in an enrichment class during their
I/E period. However, it is important to note that all students were welcome to participate and
were advised to let their science teacher know about their interest.

If students needed help beyond what was available above, additional arrangements could be
made on an as need basis. To get this assistance, all the students had to do was to ask their
science teacher for assistance.

High School Division:
1st Place: DHS Alondra Rosario “Levels of Bisphenol-A”
2nd Place: WAHS Arianna Watkins “The Invisible Aircraft”
3rd Place (tie):        
DHS Kyla Forbes “The Effect of Gender on Stress in Teenagers”
WAHS Grace Edinger “Keeping Bacteria at Bay”

Middle School Division:
6th Grade
1st Place: Trexler Benjamin Moretz “What Stains More?”
2nd Place: HMMS Matthew Neumann “Mowing with Vapor”
3rd Place (tie):        
HMMS Annthonette Cuellar “Solid Lotion”
HMMS Bahaa Hanna “Electric Motor”

7th grade (Experimental)
1st Place:        HMMS Vanessa Ferriolo “Rusting Out”
2nd Place: Trexler Meghan Edinger “Friction on a Speeding Slope”
3rd Place: Trexler Julia Eschner “What is the Best way to remove water stains from Fabric?”

7th grade (Engineering and Computer Science)
1st Place (tie):
SMMS Sally Ma “The Deletion and Recovery of a File”
Trexler Maria Gabriela Terrones Mesias “Parachute Drop”
2nd place:        HMMS Elizabeth Sierra Garabito “Linear Accelerator”
3rd Place:        SMMS Alain-Kyle Alfonso “What is the fastest way to connect to the router for

8th grade (Experimental)
1st Place (tie):
Trexler Madeline Fink “The Affect of Flour on Cookie Density”
SMMS Ambar Rosario “The Effect of Carbon Dioxide on Our Atomsphere”
2nd Place:        Raub Christ Jimenez “Magnet Power”
3rd Place (tie):        
SMMS Annas Farooq “Cryptocurrencies: Safer US Dollar”
HMMS Angie Staity “How does salt affect the freezing point of water?”
8th Grade (Engineering and Computer Science)
1st place: SMMS Carlee Davidson “Using Diffraction patterns to find wire width”
2nd place: SMMS Gregorio Soto Jr. “Energy Production: Wind Turbine vs. Solar Panels”
3rd place: HMMS Angela Mamari “The Monty Hall Problem”

High School Awards Given
DHS Alondra Rosario        
$100 Kirk Shinsky Award from the East Allentown Rittersville Neighborhood Association

Middle School Awards Given
HMMS Vanessa Ferriolo
$100 Frederick Greenleaf Jr. Award from the East Allentown Rittersville Neighborhood

Chosen Winner: Aerospace Engineering/Astronomy Project
WAHS Arianna Watkins        
$100 Space Frontier Award that honors Pete Conrad, a Pennsylvanian who flew to the moon
on Apollo 12. From the East Allentown Rittersville Neighborhood Association.

Additionally, the East Allentown Rittersville Neighborhood Association offered Awards to Ritter
Elementary Students in their 5th Grade Science fair and to the Mosser Elementary in their
combined 4th grade-5th grade Science Fairs ... The Awards are in the honor of Gary Becker
Award the former Dieruff High School Planetarium Director .

Ritter Science Fair --- Gary Becker Award winners
1st Place -- Synthia Layous --- It is Everywhere - Microwaves
2nd Place --- Mason Marcks --- Umder Pressure - Basketball Pressure
3rd Place --- Andre Mamori ---- Coin Battery

Mosser Science Fair --- Gary Becker Award Winners
1st Place – Kiara Perez – “Shapes, Area and Friction”
2nd Place – Michael Negron – “Slime”
3rd Place – Mayrali Melendez and D’Anjulie Rodriguez – “Which Water is Least Acidic?”
Honorary Mention – David Santiago “Popcorn”

Project Academia - Science
Project Academia- Science
Next Meeting ;  September  17, 2018
Index Page